13 more countries are now eligible and qualified for Canada's electronic travel authorization (eTA)


Sign In

13 more countries are now eligible and qualified for Canada's electronic travel authorization (eTA)

4 months ago (01 August 2023)

13 more countries now eligible for Canada's Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA)


Canada, known for its stunning landscape and diverse culture, has announced an exciting development that will enhance travel opportunities for visitors from around the world. On 6 June 2023, His Excellency Minister for Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Sean Fraser announced the addition of 13 countries to the electronic travel authorization (eTA) programme. Travelers from these countries who have obtained a Canadian visa in the past 10 years or who currently hold a valid U.S. nonimmigrant visa can apply for an eTA in lieu of a visa when traveling to Canada by air.

Newly eligible countries

Adding these 13 countries to the eTA program brings many benefits to both travelers and the Canadian economy. Eligible countries are as follows:


  1. Antigua and Barbuda
  2. Argentina
  3. Costa Rica
  4. Morocco
  5. Panama
  6. Filipino
  7. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  8. Saint Lucia
  9. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  10. Seychelles
  11. Thailand
  12. Trinidad and Tobago
  13. Uruguay

Positive reception: opinions of members of Parliament

This new initiative has received positive responses from various Members of Parliament who recognize the tremendous benefits it brings to Canada. Let's take a look at what some of them have to say:


“The economic and social benefits that will accrue from this announcement are undeniable. Increased tourism means bringing more families and friends together, boosting local businesses, hotels, restaurants and various industries that thrive on visitors from abroad. By making travel to Canada more accessible, we are enhancing opportunities for Cooperation, trade and investment, thus revitalizing our economy and creating jobs for our fellow Manitobans and Canadians.”

- Kevin Lamoureux, Member of Parliament for Winnipeg North


The expanded eTA program opens doors to a diverse range of global visitors, fosters cultural exchange and boosts tourism like never before. With this expansion, we can look forward to welcoming more travelers passionate about exploring the wonders of southern Winnipeg, experiencing our vibrant communities and immersing ourselves in our rich cultural heritage.”

- Terry Duguid, MP for Winnipeg South


“This exciting development will make it efficient and affordable for countless individuals from around the world to visit our great nation. By eliminating visa requirements, we welcome tourists and enable families to reunite and visit their loved ones in Canada more easily. As a proud Filipino-Canadian, I am thrilled to expand eTA eligibility to include the Philippines. Through this new announcement, we uplift Filipino society, foster close relationships, embrace diversity, and open new horizons for future growth and cooperation.”

- Richie Valdez, MP for Mississauga-Streetsville


The expansion of the eTA program signals Canada's commitment to enhancing global connections and facilitating seamless travel experiences. By eliminating the need for visas, the country aims to promote international cooperation, trade and investment. Furthermore, this development is expected to boost tourism, benefiting local businesses, hotels, restaurants and various industries that depend on international visitors.


With the inclusion of 13 new countries, Canada expects a significant rise in the number of enthusiastic travelers seeking to explore its natural wonders, immerse themselves in its vibrant culture, and craft lasting memories. This initiative not only enhances travel accessibility but also strengthens ties between countries, facilitates cultural exchange and promotes diversity.

Fill the below form and one of our team members will contact you within 24 hours.